BIoGRAPHY

Pierre Brassard and Marie-Pier Lebeau are self-taught artists living and working in Quebec City. Since 2008, they have been forming the artist duo Pierre&Marie. Their works have been shown in many artist-run centres in Québec and in a private gallery (Art Mûr). Their work has also been seen in many events: Foire en art actuel de Québec, Manif d’art 6, Satellite exhibit (Québec), Biennale internationale du lin (Québec and Northern Ireland). Their artworks have also been mentioned and analyzed in some specialized magazines. Pierre&Marie’s works will also be part of Manif d’art 8 (Québec, MNBAQ). They are supported by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and by Première Ovation. Their works are included in the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec collection and in private collections. Since 2009, they are active members of the Acapulco collective.

STATEMENT

Pierre&Marie’s practice is characterized by the permeability of disciplines and spanned by the presence of pop culture objects. The narrative practice is punctuated by references to childhood memories and reflects the foundations of modern society, which are built around ephemeral and unachievable ideals. Remains, marvellousness, device, chaos, beauty and disenchantment are our central concerns. Our work is built around links between humans and objects, which are characterized by abusive use of goods, the quest for an ideal or the search for meaning. Pierre&Marie highlights the inherent violence generated by the dogmas of our society of the spectacle, which is obsessed with both entertainment and security. We take pleasure in finding the weaknesses of this system, which cultivates beauty and dazzling. The work of Pierre&Marie is all about this “almost perfect “.

Influenced by everyday reality and by the pessimistic news feed, we are seeking for some light, under the mass of bad news from all around the world. We are sensitive to what connects us with the universal and we create works which relate to the idea of still life, coupled with a narration inspired by tales and poetry. Through attractive but disturbing installations, photographs and sculptures, we create poetic micro-stories featuring small animals, party remains, industrial objects and war games. The caustic tone and the tension generated by those works throw the viewer into a dialectic relationship between contemplation, aesthetic pleasure, and brutal awareness about today’s society.

CRÉDIT PHOTO : ÉTIENNE BOUCHER / PIERRE&MARIE

Start typing and press Enter to search

BIoGRAPHIE

Artistes autodidactes, Pierre Brassard et Marie-Pier Lebeau vivent et travaillent à Québec. Depuis 2008, ils forment le duo d’artistes Pierre&Marie. Leurs œuvres ont été présentées dans différents centres d’artistes du Québec et à la galerie Art Mûr (Montréal). Leur travail a également été vu dans plusieurs évènements : Foire en art actuel de Québec, Manif d’art 6 (Québec), Biennale internationale du lin (Québec et Irlande du Nord). Citées et théorisées dans quelques revues spécialisées, les œuvres de Pierre&Marie feront également partie de la prochaine Manif d’Art (Québec, Musée national des beaux-arts de Québec). Ils sont soutenus par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et par Première Ovation. Leurs œuvres font partie de la collection du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et de quelques collections privées. Depuis 2009, ils sont membres actifs du collectif Acapulco.

DÉMARCHE

La pratique de Pierre&Marie est marquée par la perméabilité des disciplines et traversée par la présence d’objets rattachés à la culture populaire. Narrative et ponctuée de clins d’œil aux souvenirs d’enfance, elle fait écho aux fondements de notre société moderne, échafaudés autour de l’éphémère et d’un idéal inaccessible. Au cœur de nos préoccupations : le reliquat, le merveilleux, l’artifice, le chaos, la beauté et le désenchantement. Notre travail s’articule autour des liens qui unissent l’humain à l’objet, se traduisant par une consommation abusive de biens, la quête d’un idéal ou une recherche de sens. Pierre&Marie souligne la violence intrinsèque des dogmes de notre société du spectacle, obsédée à la fois par le divertissement et la sécurité. Nous nous amusons à trouver les failles à ce système cultivant la beauté et l’éblouissant. C’est dans ce « presque parfait » que le travail de Pierre&Marie prend tout son sens.

Influencés par le quotidien et le fil d’actualité pessimiste, nous cherchons des fragments de lumière terrés sous la masse de mauvaises nouvelles venues des quatre coins du monde. Sensible à ce qui nous lie à l’universel, nous créons des œuvres qui peuvent être rattachées à l’idée de la nature morte, avec un aspect narratif qui tire son inspiration du conte et de la poésie.  Par des installations, des photographies et des sculptures aussi attirantes qu’inquiétantes, nous élaborons des microrécits poétiques qui mettent en scène petits animaux, vestiges de fête, objets industriels et jeux de guerre. Le ton grinçant et les tensions générées par ces œuvres plongent le spectateur dans un rapport dialectique entre contemplation, plaisir esthétique et prise de conscience brutale sur la société actuelle.

CRÉDIT PHOTO : ÉTIENNE BOUCHER / PIERRE&MARIE

Start typing and press Enter to search